Madingley was originally developed as a collaboration by the United Nations Environment Programme World Conservation Monitoring Centre (UNEP-WCMC) and Microsoft Research in Cambridge. The current development of the model is being funded by and in collaboration with the Nippon Foundation Nereus Program (Japan/Canada), the KR Foundation (Denmark), the Leverhulme Trust (UK) and UNEP-WCMC. It is now in use by researchers at over a dozen institutions worldwide.

UNEP-WCMC

UNEP-WCMC acts as a convenor and organiser of the Madingley model community, and has ecological scientists continuing to develop the model.

Contacts: Mike Harfoot (mike.harfoot@unep-wcmc.org), Derek Tittensor (derek.tittensor@unep-wcmc.org)

University College London

UCL researchers are working to extend and develop the capabilities of the Madingley model, particularly in the terrestrial realm.

Contact: Tim Newbold (t.newbold@ucl.ac.uk)

Imperial College

Students and researchers at Imperial College are using Madingley to map Madingley functional groups to species and explore neutral ecological processes.

Contact: James Rosindell (j.rosindell@imperial.ac.uk)

University of Copenhagen

The University of Copenhagen has researchers improving the ecological realism of the model, particularly in the marine realm.

Contact: Erik Mousing (eamousing@snm.ku.dk)

Cambridge University

Cambridge University has researchers improving the software implementation of the model.

Contact: Mike Bithell (mb425@cam.ac.uk)

Stockholm Resilience Centre

Researchers at the Stockholm Resilience Centre are integrating Madingley with models of agricultural systems to understand trade-offs in coupled socio-ecological systems

Contact: Ingo Fetzer (ingo.fetzer@su.se)

Radboud University

Researchers at Radboud University are using Madingley to investigate the ecological implications of projected scenarios of biofuels production.

Contact: Mark Huijbregts (m.huijbregts@science.ru.nl)

ZSL

The Zoological Society of London is using Madingley to project tipping points and ecosystem change.

Contact: Piero Visconti (pierovisconti@gmail.com)

Nereus Program

The Nereus Program is both funding and developing Madingley to look at fisheries and marine ecosystem future under global change.

Contact: Yoshitaka Ota (yoshitakaota@me.com) and William Cheung (w.cheung@oceans.ubc.ca)

Northern Arizona University

Researchers at Northern Arizona University are working to incorporate nutrient dispersal by animals into Madingley.

Contact: Chris Doughty (chris.doughty@nau.edu)

KR Foundation

The KR Foundation has provided funding to use the Madingley Model to explore the biodiversity planetary boundary.

Leverhulme Trust

The Leverhulme Trust has enabled greater development of the terrestrial plant components and climate sensitivities of the Madingley model

Microsoft Research

Microsoft Research was a co-founder and developer of the original version of the Madingley model, along with UNEP-WCMC.

Download the code and get started

GitHub Wiki